Since June 1st we have opened our special PreOrder+ to fund some record company-like activities to promote our upcoming album. Besides the usual preorder of the new album on CD, Download and/or double heavy weight vinyl, we are also offering some special crowdfunding-like perks to give you something extra. These special perks will be available till July 1st.

To go to our special PreOrder+ page, follow the link above in the menu or click HERE


The end of May. A splendid time to begin the journey to the release of our album, “The Night Sky”, on October 1st, 2021. The time finally arrived to publicly unleash the first song, so you, our dear friends and listeners of fine music, can be dragged in our upcoming epos about Death and Loneliness. (Check our VIDEO section on this page for the Lyric Video)

The Observer is the opening track of the new album and tells the story of the “person” that is doomed to watch humanity for eternity and write down its story. To see but not to be seen. To live forever, being invisible.

We would like to ask you to please SHARE this video in any way you can, and spread the word of our newest melancholic story. We would be very grateful and appreciative.


The first steps into the real world are here. We are happy to inform you that today we can unveil the artwork and track listing of our upcoming 2nd full-length album, which will bear the name “The Night Sky”. Scheduled Release Date: October 1st, 2021.

The album will hold 8 epic, diverse, dynamic and intense songs, that showcase the band’s best and most mature work to date. An album beyond genre boundaries, an album made without disruptive influences from the outside world. We still like to call it Melancholic Metal, but we know this doesn’t say much to some of you. We touch and absorb the intensions behind doom and gothic metal, as well as hints of atmospheric and post metal. But most of all, it sounds like Vetrar Draugurinn.

Track listing “The Night Sky”:
1. The Observer (5:45)
2. The Night Sky (7:36)
3. Lansdown Hill (4:46) (featuring Mark Kelson of The Eternal)
4. The Fear of Letting Go (6:23)
5. The Lonely (6:30)
6. Our Lady of Perpetual Emptiness (6:06)
7. As I Drift on an Ocean towards a Distant Shore (7:36)
8. Reynisfjara (10:32)

The beautiful and atmospheric artwork and layout of this album will be once again created by the talented Gogo Melone ART.

This album is a big step forward for the band and shows that they have carved their own niche in the scene. Lifting this album above the maelstrom and making it their best to date.

A special (limited) pre-order/funding will be available from June 1st, 2021.The band is releasing the album under their own label Dark Skies Coming, which means a lot of extra work and asking the help from others. The special pre-order is to generate funds to take care of the marketing side of this release, so the world will know it exists and it gets the attention this epic album deserves. We will be offering the album as Digital Download, CD and vinyl, as well as some limited edition perks. We hope you all are as excited about this release as we are, and we hope we can count on your support to make this release as epic as its songs. More news to come soon!

We have re-evaluated our current online home and decided to re-do our webshop. With 4 items restocked, and hopefully some more to come, we hope that all of you can find something to your liking and spread the word of Vetrar Draugurinn. Thank you for your support!

You can find our webshop HERE

The month of May has kicked down the door and we’re establishing some mayor progress in the process. On the very first day of this month we headed out for some brand new band photographs, taken by our dear friend Cristel Brouwer. We took some band photos and some individual photos at several locations; all to go with the release of the upcoming album.

The album will feature one song with guest vocals from another dear friend, namely Mark Kelson (singer/guitar player of the Australian Dark Metallers The Eternal). He added some nice clean vocals in high and (gothic) low range. A very nice contrast to Marjan’s vocals that will lift the sing to another level.

And finally we can announce that the mix of the album is done and yesterday we have sent it out to the UK for mastering. Moving onwards, we will have more news coming soon, as we are heading down several different paths at the same time. Stay tuned!

After a whole year of Covid-19, after life in slow motion, like watching the world go by through thick mist,… we found the strength to move onwards. We have been working hard in the shadows and created a new chapter in the form of our 2nd full-length album.

We are currently putting the final touches to the mix of 8 brand new songs, which are collected under the monicker “The Night Sky”. Up next is the mastering and the artwork. Soon we will give the first glimpse of things to come. The journey is still long, but we are about to up the gears. Loads of things are happening at the same time. So, we are happy to say… The new chapter starts HERE!

This March will see 2 unique and awesome gigs, a collaboration between 2 of the melancholy tinged powerhouses of the Netherlands. As both Autumn and Vetrar Draugurinn are fronted by the talented Marjan Welman, we convinced her to do double-duty on these nights. It will be exciting and a test of her endurance, for sure, but we have all the confidence in the world that she will pull it off with ease and stun the audience with her soothing vocals.
We hope you can all come down to one of these shows and witness an evening of heaviness; support the bands. We can’t wait to share the stage with our dear friends and fellow ambassadors of honest music in our home country. 🙂

March 7th, 2020 – Muziekcentrum De Bosuil, Weert NL
March 13th, 2020 – DE FLUX, Zaandam, NL

The time has come… From this moment on you are able to pre-order our full-length album HINTERLANDS through the link below. When you order the digital or physical album you receive the download for the title track instantly, BUT… the first 200 orders will also receive an EXCLUSIVE bonus track, namely “The Noose” (Originally by A Perfect Circle)!!!
This rare bonus will not be available after March 28, and can only be obtained by pre-ordering the album through Bandcamp. So don’t hesitate (!!) and help us spread the good sounds across the world.